ROBO-ONE/ Light /autoRegarding the 30th ROBO-ONE / 14th ROBO-ONE Light / 1st ROBO-ONE auto Competition rule Part2 (Post:2017/02/20)
About the length of the robot legs (Post:2017/02/09)
Question about the robot's arm length (Post:2017/02/09)
About operation method of ROBO-ONE auto (Post:2017/02/09)
Regarding the 30th ROBO-ONE / 14th ROBO-ONE Light / 1st ROBO-ONE auto Competition rule (Post:2017/01/11)
Regarding the 30th ROBO-ONE / 14th ROBO-ONE Light / 1st ROBO-ONE auto Competition rule Part2
Q1. Discrepancies between Q&A and referee judgments
In the Q&A for the previous competition, we received an answer that “front/back/left/right symmetrical attacks are to be judged as the same attacks” (previous completion Q&A answer), but the referee stated in the pre-competition meeting that “front/back attacks are to be judged as different attacks”, and this rule was applied to the actual competition. In this competition when “interpretation of the rules by the Q&A and referee” differ, and the competition is run in accordance with “Previous competition answer A4”, which principle will be prioritized for the judgement?
A1. The referee’s judgment takes priority.
First and foremost, the competition regulations take priority.
Q&A are published in response to inquiries, but the Q&As are explained in as simple terms as possible. In cases where competition regulations need to be revised, revisions are implemented approximately 1 month before the competition providing the revisions do not require substantial changes to robot construction. If substantial changes are required, the revisions are implemented in the following competition.
In cases where it is necessary to disseminate information close to a competition, information is disseminated via Q&A and at the briefing. However, these are temporary solutions, and you will need to follow the revised competition regulations at the next competition.
Q2. “Feint attacks”
In the current competition regulations, “8.5.2 Side Attacks (explanation 21)” states “an attack may be judged as a feint even if the opponent is not sideways”. With regards to the “attack may be judged as a feint”, does this mean that any attack judged to be “in order to attract the opponents attention or lure an action” irrespective of the timing or position, including “when the opponent is in front”, it will be judged as a “side attack” even if it is an effective attack and will receive a yellow card?
A2. For example, if the opponent is in front and you make a side attack that is unrelated to the opponent, such a movement will not be judged as an attack. However, if the opponent moves to your side and you make a side attack, this will be judged as a feint even if you do not hit the opponent. This type of attack is prohibited.
Q3. Cases where the robot cannot get up
In cases where it is dangerous or difficult for the robot to get up, such as when the robot falls at the side of the ring which may result in it falling out of the ring when getting up, or if it is facing in an unexpected direction (facing backwards after standing), the referee sometimes moves the robot to a position or orientation where it can stand. Will referees continue to do this in all competition category without differentiating falls due to slippage even in the new ROBO-ONE auto category?
A3. Under normal circumstances, referees do not move robots. However, the referee may judge it is necessary in cases where robots may become entangled.
Q4. Details of Q&A from the previous competition
In the previous “MISUME Presents 29th ROBO-ONE/MISUME Presents 13th ROBO-ONE Light” question and answers, there was an answer in the “Previous Answers” that stated competition regulations are revised for each competition and are therefore not valid. Based on the “Previous competition answers”, are there any of the following explanations/editions which are valid in the competition regulations for this competition? Alternatively, are any of them valid based on partial corrections/additions?
・“Crouching” is taken as a stable position with both feet down. A robot is not considered to be crouching if feet are raised.
・Parts protruding from the legs “which are not part of the leg” are judged as not being part of the legs, and must be measured.
・In cases where the referee judgment differs from the competition regulations, the competition regulations shall be adopted as true when the situation is clarified in the competition regulations. However, if no objections are raised by the judges or participants by the end of the bout, the referee’s decision will be final.
・Participants can ask a referee the reason for and ask questions about why they have received a card at the time when the card is received.
・If an attack that violates the competition regulations is made, a card will be given by the referee even if the attack does not touch the opponent if the attack is not considered sportsmanly.
・Any attack in which the position in which your robot initially strikes the opponent (or would initially strike the opponent) is within 45 degrees greater or less than the side of the opponent is considered as a side attack. Irrespective of the type of attack, any attack that strikes a point within the range of 45 degrees greater or less than the side of the opponent is considered as a side attack. Any attacks that hit outside this range of 45 degrees greater or less than the side of the opponent are acceptable.
(However, this shall exclude “attacks for feints” based on changes to these competition regulations.)
Q5. There are no changes to the basic interpretation of content listed here. However, in order to improve internationalization and increase the number of participants, we are constantly working to reflect this content in the competition regulations as opposed to covering these topics in the Q&A.
Content that participants feel is necessary to be clarified will be added to the competition regulations, but we would prefer participants to take sportsmanship over creating robot policies. Furthermore, in the interest of fairness we have given authority to the judges, and enable participants to lodge objections with the judges if they disagree with a referee’s decision.
Q6. I understand that side attacks are prohibited, but would cases such as “attempting to attack in the forward direction, but the robot turns sideways when the attack is made” be considered as side attacks?
(E.g. Low kick or shoulder strike that involves approaching the opponent from in front, but making a motion that results in the hand or foot facing the side for the attack.)
A6. If the preliminary direction is forwards and the pivoting foot is facing forwards, providing the attack is within ±45 degrees of this range the attack will not be considered a side attack irrespective of the orientation of the upper body.
About the length of the robot legs
Q.In the case of the figure, which is the leg length?
A.We measure the length to the ring surface with the robot standing.
Therefore, 2 in the figure is close.
Question about the robot's arm length
Q. In “4.2.2 Arm, Tail etc.”, you measure as shown in Figure 1, but how do you measure in Figure 2?
A. We measure like the red line in Figure 2.
Extend the arm of the robot to the side and measure the maximum length from the point away from the body.
About operation method of ROBO-ONE auto
Q. Is it possible to operate the start stop of the robot with either the keyboard of the PC connected to the network, the wireless controller, or the switch attached to the robot?
A. No matter which way you operate, there is no problem.
However, for safety reasons, radio control is desired as much as possible when stopping.
Regarding the 30th ROBO-ONE / 14th ROBO-ONE Light / 1st ROBO-ONE auto Competition rule
Q1. In ROBO-ONE auto, are the following actions allowed to assist the robot’s autonomous movement?
(A) Capture the ring with the camera directly above and/or around the ring.
(B) Attach any sensor to the ring side and/or ring back side.
A1. Basically as described in 5.1-2, it shall be "Autonomous operation by sensors and computers installed in the robot during the game."
Therefore, both (a) and (b) are not allowed.
Q2. “Throws” are defined as 8.5.4(a) “Attacks involving holding and throwing the opponent are throws.” And “OWAZA” are defined as “Attacks that result in the opponent coming off the ring into the air are called “OWAZA,” or “bold attacks.””
Are “Throws” and “OWAZA” the same meaning?
A2. "Throws" that result in the opponent coming off the ring into the air are called "OWAZA." Therefore if the "Throw" that does not become OWAZA, you can’t get 2 down, and if the "Throw" is side attack, you will get a yellow card.
Q3. Regarding "4.2 Robot standard, ” must be able to identify feet, legs, arms, torso and head of the robot” was added, are there any specific definitions of these parts specifically?
A3. We established this provision aiming at robots that spectators do not feel uncomfortable. Therefore, just like humans and animals, it would be enough to be able to recognize that each part is present.
For example, there is no problem if we can recognize it as a head even if the body and head are united.
We would be pleased if you understand the purpose.
Q4. What should I do if there is a mistake in referee's judgment?
A4. If there is a mistake in judgment or you feel any doubt on the judgment, please inform the judge.
The judge will stop the Timer, deliberate the content and ultimately be judged by the judging committee chairperson.
The judgments will be determined at the end of the match. It cannot be changed after that.
Q5. What is the evaluation of a robot that only changes direction and does not approach opponent? (Control aiming at counter attack only)
A5. According to "8.2 Match operation (j)", if you do not actively attack, it will be eligible for Yellow Card.
Q6. How do you judge the outcome of a robot game that both opponents only change the direction and do not come close together?
A6. It is judged according to "7. Final Tournament (b)" and "Commentary 13".